Episode 63: The Chakras - A Framework for Holistic Living

Two episodes ago I spoke about how discovering the throat chakra changed my life. Today I am going to dive into the other 6 chakras as they really can provide a framework to support your wellbeing from a physical, emotional and energetic point of view. The chakras can help you to navigate life and experience a broader sense of living.

However you are experiencing life, there is something for you!

Read on to discover:

- What the chakras are

- The main characteristics of each chakra

- Some examples of what an excess or deficient chakra may present as

- The distinction between the upwards and downwards currents

- How healing and life isn't a linear journey

If you've listened to any of my previous podcasts, or read any of the previous blogs, you've likely seen and heard me speaking passionately about the sister science to Yoga, Ayurveda. Yoga, the chakra's and Ayurveda are all interrelated and come from the same ancient wisdom from India, there are so many links between them. I'm sure in the future the term 'Ayurveda' will become as widely well known as Yoga and the chakra's.

So let's jump straight into the map of the chakra's that help us to navigate life and experience a broader sense of living. The main seven chakra's are known as the spinning discs of energy. They are arranged vertically along our core, commonly visualized using the spine. If you're not used to thinking about subtle energies, think about the wind blowing as an example- we can't see it, but we can feel the soft and gentle, or sometimes strong and powerful air as it moves.

In our bodies, we have over 30 trillion cells that are all vibrating, just like all of the atoms in visible and non-visible objects all around us. There is an energetic frequency and each of our chakra's can have it's own frequency too. It may be spinning in balance, or it may be spinning too fast or too slowly, creating either an excess or deficiency in that chakra. The chakra's can be seen as an ingredient to a recipe to make you feel whole. Let's dive into them individually..

Chakra 1- The Root Chakra

This is located at the base of the spine and it's central issue is survival. The importance of feeling safe, stable and having everything we need to survive. When the root chakra is balanced we feel calm, grounded and that our feet are firmly planted. The root chakra also connects to an element of trust and prosperity, if we don't feel safe, or financially secure this will have an impact on the root chakra.

The rights of the root chakra says that we have the right to be here and to have.

The right to be here on this earth, and the right to have all that we need to survive and flourish. When we are fearful, or not feeling safe and secure this can cause us to feel overwhelmed, restless or slightly spaced out. In contrast if we have an excess of this we could feel heaviness and like we are stuck holding onto a lot of built up emotions.

Chakra 2- The Sacral Chakra

This is located in the base of the spine, along with the pelvis, the hips and reproductive organs. It's central issue is our sexuality and emotions. When we are balanced in this area, we are in-tune with our body and our emotions, letting them flow easily rather